“Hen en Kuikens”

Small bodies nestle back into the soft  hollows against my body. Oh, it is a moment of bliss. Both of you are cuddled up under my arms, I am a hen proudly clucking her chicks into the safety of her wings.

The moment lasts only a second or two, before one of you, then both, wriggle out and giggle away from me. My heart flutters as I follow both your movements from here to there, over and under – as if you are foraging for fun down the hallway. 

The house is a mess, your breakfast from this morning is still painted on the floor. I know there is a million things to do. But when you call from the bedroom, I don’t hesitate to go join you there – hoping to peck and scratch for memories with you, which shouldn’t be left behind.

Leave a Reply

