Lappop

via Daily Prompt: Filthy

“Lied van die lappop” – Afrikaans song about a discarded rag doll.

I read about a baby girl – a new born life – discarded and discovered on a dumpsite – too late. I saw her little body, lifeless and beautiful, in my minds’ eye and it haunts me. My heart aches for her life that never began. I am so sorry little one. I am sorry that your mother felt so much despair, fear … and so little hope. Perhaps one day, hope will grow out of the filth of our current human condition. I am sorry that I do not share hope every day with dearests, friends and strangers who may need it. I will remember you – and I will remember to share hope.

 

Leave a Reply

